Label literacy
What is a proprietary blend?
Learn how proprietary blends list total weight and ingredient order while leaving individual amounts undisclosed—and what that means for label research.
A proprietary blend is a group of dietary ingredients listed under one blend name on a Supplement Facts panel. The label must give the blend’s total weight per serving and list its ingredients in descending order by weight, but it generally does not have to disclose the amount of each ingredient inside that blend.
Quick read: Treat the blend total as one shared amount, not the amount of every ingredient. Read the ingredient order from greatest to least weight, but do not use that order to invent milligram amounts. Without individual quantities, you usually cannot tell whether a specific ingredient matches an amount used in research, calculate your full intake from several products, or isolate which ingredient matters for an interaction. “Proprietary” describes the label format; it does not prove that a formula is effective, safe, unique, or FDA-approved.
Read the blend name and total weight together
FDA requires a proprietary blend to be identified as “Proprietary Blend” or by an appropriately descriptive or fanciful name. The total weight of the blend’s dietary ingredients appears on the same line.
Suppose a Supplement Facts panel says:
Focus Matrix — 750 mg
- Ingredient A
- Ingredient B
- Ingredient C
The 750 mg is the total for A, B, and C together in one labeled serving. It is not 750 mg of each ingredient. The three individual amounts must fit within that shared total.
Start with the serving size before reading the blend. If a serving is two capsules, the 750 mg applies to both capsules together unless the label clearly provides another column. The serving-size guide explains the difference between per-serving and per-piece numbers.
Use ingredient order without inventing amounts
FDA says the dietary ingredients under a proprietary blend must be listed in descending order of predominance by weight. The first ingredient therefore contributes more weight than the ingredient after it, and so on.
That order gives relative information, not exact quantities. In the 750 mg example, you know A weighs more than B and B weighs more than C. You do not know whether A is 500 mg, 300 mg, or another amount. You also do not know how close two neighboring amounts are.
Do not divide the blend total evenly by the number of ingredients. A three-ingredient 750 mg blend does not imply 250 mg each. Do not assign all 750 mg to the first ingredient either. Both calculations would invent information the label does not provide.
Know which amounts must still be listed separately
FDA’s proprietary-blend rule applies to “other dietary ingredients”—the regulatory term for dietary ingredients without established Daily Values. It does not mean the same thing as the “Other Ingredients” list below the Supplement Facts panel.
FDA says dietary ingredients with established Daily Values must be listed separately, with their individual amounts declared. A vitamin or mineral does not become quantity-free merely because a product also uses a named blend.
The Supplement Facts versus other ingredients guide explains this label split:
- Supplement Facts lists dietary ingredients, including proprietary-blend ingredients.
- Other Ingredients can include capsule materials, binders, fillers, flavors, sweeteners, colors, and similar product ingredients that are not declared as dietary ingredients in the panel.
A blend name on the front of a bottle can also differ from the regulated presentation inside Supplement Facts. Use the facts panel as the source for the labeled blend total and ingredient order.
Separate blend weight from the amount you care about
The total blend weight is useful for checking whether a front-label number matches the Supplement Facts panel. It does not establish the amount of a particular botanical, amino acid, stimulant source, or other ingredient inside the blend.
For example, a 1,500 mg “performance blend” containing five ingredients tells you that all five together weigh 1,500 mg per serving. It does not show that any one ingredient supplies the amount discussed in a study or reference guide.
This limitation also affects side-by-side calculations. A fully disclosed product and a proprietary blend may name the same ingredient, but the blend does not provide the individual number needed to put them on the same basis. You can compare what the labels disclose; you cannot complete an amount calculation from missing data.
Match research to the exact formula and amount
An ingredient appearing in research does not automatically validate every blend that names it. FTC guidance says health-related claims need adequate scientific support and that evidence must be relevant to the advertised product and claim.
Important differences can include:
- the exact ingredient form or extract;
- the amount used;
- the full combination of ingredients;
- the serving schedule;
- the population studied; and
- the outcome measured.
FTC gives an example in which studies of individual ingredients may not establish the safety of a combination product because the ingredients together may affect the body differently. It also warns against relying on research involving a different formulation or amount.
If a study used 300 mg of one defined extract but a blend hides that ingredient’s amount, the label does not let you confirm that the studied amount is present. The product could still have evidence for its finished formula, but that would require evidence on the actual product or a sound reason that the cited research applies. Ask for the complete study and formula details rather than treating an ingredient citation as proof.
The structure-and-function claim guide explains how to turn marketing language into specific evidence questions.
Add stimulant and overlapping sources carefully
A proprietary blend can make total-intake math incomplete. This matters when the same ingredient or type of ingredient appears in coffee, energy drinks, medicines, standalone supplements, or several combination products.
List every named source you can identify. Add only disclosed amounts. Mark an undisclosed amount as unknown rather than zero.
For caffeine, some products voluntarily state total caffeine from all sources even when caffeine-containing ingredients appear in a blend. If a total is not stated, do not estimate caffeine from an ingredient’s position in the list. Ask the manufacturer for the total. The caffeine-label guide covers whole-day tracking and naturally caffeine-containing ingredients.
The same principle applies to medicine interactions and other safety questions. Knowing that an ingredient is present can be important even when its amount is hidden. Share the complete label—not only the blend name—with a pharmacist or clinician when interactions, pregnancy, surgery, health conditions, or multiple products are relevant.
Do not treat a blend as FDA approval or secrecy proof
FDA does not approve dietary supplements before they are marketed, and it generally does not approve supplement claims or labeling before use. A proprietary-blend format is allowed label disclosure; it is not an FDA endorsement of the formula.
The format also does not prove that the formula is meaningfully secret or unique. A fanciful blend name can identify a product’s grouping of ingredients, but the label alone cannot establish novelty, effectiveness, or superiority.
Likewise, a fully disclosed formula is easier to assess, but disclosure alone does not prove quality, purity, safety, or benefit. It simply answers the amount question. Evidence, manufacturing quality, certification scope, other ingredients, and safety context remain separate checks.
Understand what third-party certification can add
A certification program may check whether a product meets its requirements for identity, label accuracy, contaminants, manufacturing practices, or substances banned in sport. The exact scope depends on the certifier and program.
Certification does not make undisclosed blend amounts appear on the public label unless the program or manufacturer publishes them. It also does not by itself prove that the product works for a claimed outcome or fits a person’s health needs.
Verify the exact product in the certifier’s own current database and read what the mark covers. The third-party testing guide separates quality verification from effectiveness claims.
Ask focused questions before buying
When an individual amount matters, ask the manufacturer questions that can produce a clear answer:
- What is the amount per full serving of the specific ingredient?
- Does the stated amount refer to the raw material, an extract, or a named constituent?
- Is total caffeine from all sources disclosed?
- Was the finished formula studied, or only one ingredient?
- Which exact product and lot does a certification or test cover?
- Has the formula or serving size changed since the cited study or test?
A manufacturer may decline to provide a proprietary amount. That does not tell you what the hidden number is. Record it as unavailable and decide whether the remaining information is enough for your purpose.
This guide explains what a proprietary-blend label reveals and leaves unknown. It does not determine whether a supplement is safe, effective, or appropriate for you, and it does not set a personal amount. A pharmacist or qualified clinician can help review the full label when medicines, health conditions, pregnancy, surgery, or a possible adverse effect are involved.
Proprietary blend FAQ
What does proprietary blend mean on a supplement label?
It means several dietary ingredients are grouped under one blend name. The Supplement Facts panel gives the blend’s total weight per serving and lists the ingredients in descending order by weight, but generally does not give each ingredient’s individual amount.
Is the blend total the amount of each ingredient?
No. The total is shared by all ingredients in the blend. A 750 mg blend with three ingredients contains 750 mg total across those three ingredients, not 750 mg of each one.
Can I calculate individual amounts from the ingredient order?
No. The order shows which ingredients predominate by weight, but it does not provide exact quantities. Dividing the total evenly or assigning most of it to the first ingredient would invent numbers not stated on the label.
Are proprietary blends FDA-approved?
No. FDA does not approve dietary supplements before they are marketed, and use of a proprietary-blend format is not an endorsement of the product, formula, safety, effectiveness, or claims.
Are proprietary blends safe?
The label format alone cannot answer that. Safety depends on the actual ingredients, amounts, combination, product quality, other products and medicines, health context, and use. Hidden amounts can make some of those questions harder to assess.